My Favorite Things – Vryheid Version

Sung (out loud or in your head, it’s your choice) to the tune of the Sound of Music’s “My Favorite Things”. Obviously, all rights to the original “My Favorite Things” belong to somebody else. I was just trying to be clever.

Grins on their faces and mischief their toil

Brown hands made darker from rich garden soil

Constant laughter in my memory rings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Phutu and curries and hot peppers burning

Zulu that trips up my tongue as I’m learning

Song birds that rustle the leaves with their wings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Smells from the kitchen and Auntie’s bright laughter

Tea breaks and chatting when work follows after

Heaven sent sun on my soul makes it sing

These are a few of my favorite things

 

When the pangs hit

When the tears sting

When I’m feeling sad

I simply remember my favorite things

And then I don’t feel so bad.

Leave a Reply

